Friday 14 September, 8pm
The Enterprise Centre, UEA, Norwich
£10 (conc £9 / student £8)

This writer leads a double life. He is John Banville, acclaimed literary novelist, winner of multiple awards including the Man Booker Prize for The Sea. He is also Benjamin Black, the crime writer behind the Quirke series set in 1950s Dublin, a recreation of Philip Marlowe in The Black-Eyed Blonde, and historical crime novel Prague Nights.

The event will be chaired by Nicola Upson, author of An Expert in Murder.

BOOK NOW >>


About the authors

John Banville, the author of 16 novels, has been the recipient of the Man Booker Prize, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Guardian Fiction Award, the Franz Kafka Prize and a Lannan Literary Award for Fiction. He lives in Dublin. Website

‘John Banville is simply the finest writer at work today, a prolific prose stylist whose work has only deepened in quality throughout his career’ – John Boyne

Benjamin Black is the crime-writing pen name of acclaimed author John Banville, who was born in Wexford, Ireland, in 1945. He is the author of fifteen novels, including The Sea, which won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. In 2013 he was awarded the Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Achievement in Irish Literature.

Black has written seven novels starring Quirke, the surly but brilliant pathologist. In 2014 the Quirke novels were adapted into a major BBC TV series starring Gabriel Byrne. Website

‘Black [is] a master of high-class crime fiction, literary noir in the tradition of Georges Simenon and Raymond Chandler…. ‘ – The Guardian

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.