Podcast: Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin spoke to Henry Sutton at the University of East Anglia as part of Noirwich Crime Writing Festival 2016, a celebration of crime fiction. He discusses the influence of Edinburgh and music on his writing and the experience of ageing detective John Rebus over the last 30 years.

About Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin is the internationally bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus and Detective Malcolm Fox novels, as well as a string of standalone thrillers. His books have been translated into 36 languages and are bestsellers on several continents. Ian is the recipient of four CWA Dagger Awards and in 2004, won America’s celebrated Edgar Award. He is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Hull and Edinburgh and received the OBE for services to literature. He was recently made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Website

John Rebus is one of crime fiction’s most popular and iconic characters. Public affection for the irascible ex-cop grows unabated and has sent the Rebus novels soaring to the top of the bestsellers’ charts again and again since his return inStanding in Another Man’s Grave in 2012.

Photography: Martin Figura

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s